Rock of Ages

06 August 2009
The One 2 One Network sent me a copy of the Rock of Ages: Original Broadway Cast Recording cd to review. As anyone who reads my blog regularly knows, we love music around here, so I was very eager to give it a listen. I mean, check out this track list:

  • Just Like Paradise / Nothin' But A Good Time
  • Sister Christian
  • We Built This City / Too Much Time On My Hands
  • I Wanna Rock
  • We're Not Gonna Take It
  • Heaven/More Than Words / To Be With You
  • Waiting For A Girl Like You
  • Wanted Dead Or Alive
  • I Want To Know What Love Is
  • Cum On Feel The Noize / We're Not Gonna Take It (Reprise)
  • Harden My Heart / Shadows Of The Night
  • Here I Go Again
  • The Final Countdown
  • Any Way You Want It / I Wanna Rock (Reprise)
  • High Enough
  • I Hate Myself For Loving You / Heat Of The Moment
  • Hit Me With Your Best Shot
  • Can't Fight This Feeling
  • Every Rose Has Its Thorn
  • Oh Sherrie
  • The Search Is Over
  • Don't Stop Believin
Some of those sure bring back memories. This are songs that I knew all the lyrics too, which I really enjoyed. In fact I really enjoyed this album. Do I prefer the original recordings of these songs? Yes. But, I love musicals and when you are in the mood to listen to a show rather than an album, this is the disc to pop in. Ashley and I think it is second only to our Mamma Mia cast recording cd. I think it's the perfect music to clean house, dance, sing, and be silly to! We had a blast with it! If you want to buy your own copy, click on over to Amazon.

What is the show about you might ask? Well, Rock of Ages is the new Broadway musical starring American Idol finalist Constantine Maroulis. Set in 1987 in a legendary Sunset Strip rock club, a small-town girl meets a big-city dreamer and they fall in love to the greatest metal songs of the 80's. The musical is an arena-rock love story told through the mind-blowing, face-melting hits of Journey, Bon Jovi, Styx, Reo Speedwagon, Pat Benatar, Foreigner, Twisted Sister, Poison, Asia, Whitesnake and more.

Check out this video of the making of the soundtrack. It looks like the cast had a blast with it as well!

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]

No comments: